Bringing Home Baby

Gunder Leroy
Gunder Leroy

Well, today our little baby Gunder is four days old.  We were able to bring him home from the hospital on Friday, and thank our great Lord that my parents were here.  I thought I was a tough girl who would find this mothering thing so simple, but I definitely needed my mom (I still do).  Today as my mom and dad left to head back home, I felt like a piece of my heart was being ripped out.  Living five hours away from family has always been hard on me, but I think it will be even more difficult with the little guy around.

Gunder is an amazing, content, adorable, precious little gift from God.  We love him already so much; it is crazy how our hearts work!

Last week I was starting to get a little nervous that I would have to be induced because little “Walt” just wasn’t wanting to make his grand debut.  On Wednesday night, as John and I walked into church for Lenten service, all of the little old church ladies giggled and giggled because they were shocked to still see us…pregnant.  But, all of their prayers that night must have paid off, because by 12:12 in the morning “Walt” decided he was ready to meet us!  I waited to call the hospital and wake John up until I was pretty sure I was actually having contractions.  About an hour and a half later I woke up John and we got ready to head to to the hospital.

With the loving support of John and the fabulous care of the nurses and my midwife, baby Gunder entered this crazy world at 7:42AM on February 28th.  He weighed 9 lbs. 15 oz. and measured 22 in. long.  I had read about the emotional toll a birth takes on the mother, but I wasn’t prepared for the reality.  My heart felt like it was going to explode with love and adoration for this little bundle, and I couldn’t help the tears of happiness, excitement, nervousness, and fear.

Your prayers are greatly appreciated as we adjust to being a family of three.  Chester could also use some prayers.  The poor guy just doesn’t quite understand what is going on and why he doesn’t get all of our attention.  The next several weeks are going to go by way too quickly, and I am going to try appreciate every single second of my maternity leave.

Thank you to you all for your love and support during this wonderful and emotional time in our lives.

God Bless,
The Displaced City Girl

6 thoughts on “Bringing Home Baby

  1. So Happy to hear all is well! You will make a great Mother, just stay strong. Hearts, prayers and love to you, as well as Chester!

  2. Oh what a wonderful story. Yes, there is way more to this motherhood than we can ever imagine. Enjoy your precious little bundle while they are so sweet and innocent. If you ever need any help in any way I am here and will help you out any way I possibly can. Hang in there, you will do just fine and you will be wonderful parents. God bless you and your family. Vanessa

  3. Congratulations and best wishes to both you and John. You will do a great job of parenting, giving all the love and support your new addition needs. Gunder is already Half grown! Haha. He is a handsome fella and looks like he could be a month old already. We will continue to keep you, John, Gunder, and Chester in our thoughts and prayers. We are excited to see all of you again. Jamie, enjoy your maturnity leave not thinking about how has it will go but the quality of time spent.
    Take Care–Best wishes to all.

Leave a comment