My Friend, Rojelio

People enter our lives in many ways, and often times they are quite unexpected.  It was about a year and a half ago when I met the dad of one of my students.  To me, he was simply a working dad who took time out of his very busy schedule to meet with me about his child.  This in itself showed me a lot about his character, because it can be quite difficult to get parents to meet with teachers. This showed me how much he cared about his family.  He was kind, and his children reflected that kindness shown to them and others by their father.  Little did I know that he would move to our little town and become our neighbor.

My friend Rojelio brightens my day.  Yesterday, he rode with me to town in order to meet up with someone.  Our trip allowed for some great conversation, and conversations with Rojelio are always enlightening.  Not only does this man have an unwavering positive outlook on life, but he really puts things into perspective for me.  Rojelio’s family and my family are quite different in some ways, but in others we’re the same as every other family in the world.  He grew up in Mexico, not in Small Town, South Dakota.  He has spent a large majority of his adult life following work, while life was kind of mapped out for me with high school, college, and a career.

The most important things that Rojelio reminds me to do are:

  1. Be thankful for what I have.
  2. Work is a good thing, and I am fortunate to have a job.
  3. Families require love and sacrifices.
  4. Every situation can be turned into something negative, but what’s the point? Life is better with a positive outlook.

My family has been blessed with all kinds of friends who have many different past experiences.  Diversity is important, and today I am especially thankful for my family’s friend Rojelio.

This link will hopefully put things into perspective for you, and remind you of just how great your life really is.  Thank you for reading, and I am thankful for YOU!

20 Signs You’re Doing Better Than You Think You Are

Stay Positive!

The Displaced City Girl

Leave a comment